Anxious Thoughts

6 May

Image

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Phil 4:6 NIV

Worry tends to rear it’s ugly head on the days when I’m most worn out. I’ve thought a lot lately about the root behind my worries. The main beast-control. So much uncertainty goes on in our world-things we can take precautions with but in all honesty we can’t 100% plan for every possible thing. After spending a few days chewing on the thought of control and why I worry about certain things, I came to the conclusion worry is my form of control over things I really can’t fully control. Almost like a guard, I guess I’ve let myself believe over time that by worrying about something I was protecting myself. Silly right? Yet it’s such a deep set thought I feel like I’m lying to myself to let it go. That’s when the above verse finally clicked with me. Be anxious in nothing, but in everything pray. (I paraphrased) You see I have two choices. When a worry knocks on my brain I can “control” it by worrying (which the old saying goes, you can rock all day in a rocking chair but you won’t get anywhere) OR I can pray about it and give it to God who ultimately can control the situation. It’s hard, but I know it’s what the word commands us to do and anything less is actually disobedience to God. I love what Mark Batterson says in his book, the Circle Maker, “Bold prayers honor God, and God honors bold prayers. God isn’t offended by your biggest dreams or boldest prayers. He is offended by anything less.”

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

