Turkey Meatballs

20 Mar
Photo Credit: Giada De Laurentiis

Photo Credit: Giada De Laurentiis

I’m usually not a meat person. I’m one of those who really don’t like to touch raw meat, plus as a single person I can’t justify the cost of meat for just me. However, I was in a meat mood. Maybe it’s all the Paleo blogs I’ve been reading but I decided to try my hand at meatballs.

I went with Giada’s mini turkey meatball recipe. So good! I did tweak it a little bit. Those changes are noted in italics. I also added in some diced carrots since I had some leftover which helped me feel a little less meat drenched. I served over zucchini noodles (made by julienne the noodles and boiling for a few minutes). Be careful though with the julienne peeler, I almost cut my wrist using it.

Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients:
1 small onion, grated (I threw into a food processor with the carrots and parsley)
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 large egg
1/4 cup dried bread crumbs (I added just a tad more for binder)
3 tablespoons ketchup
1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley leaves
1/2 cup grated cheese (I used aged white cheddar)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 pound ground turkey breast meat
26 ounces Newman’s Marinara or your favorite
I also threw in some shredded carrots, Italian seasoning, and chia seeds

Giada has a different way to cook these, but I opted to bake them so here is what I did.

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a baking dish or two.
2. Mix all ingredients in a bowl except the sauce. I pulsed the parsley, carrots, and onion in my food processor. I also added chia seeds to the mix for fun.
3. Mix well with your hands and create tiny meat balls. Place in baking dish giving room around each.
4. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until all pink is gone.
5. I let them simmer in the marinara sauce for a little bit while I prepped and cooked the zucchini noodles.

Leave a Reply

