Convoy of Hope

19 Mar

Screen Shot 2013-03-19 at 9.11.30 AM

I’ve always been a fan of Convoy of Hope. What’s that you ask? Here is a little insert from their site.

Since Convoy of Hope, a 501(c)3 faith-based nonprofit, was founded in 1994 we have served more than 55 MILLION people throughout the world through international children’s feeding initiatives, community outreaches, disaster response and partner resourcing. At Convoy of Hope our goals are to provide help and hope to people in need in the United States and around world through our children’s feeding initiatives, community outreaches, disaster response and partner resourcing.

Convoy of Hope Sandy Response_10

I admire the outreach that Convoy of Hope provides, not only to improvished places across the globe, but to our own backyard. Convoy of Hope responds with fresh food and water during times of natural disaster (like Hurricane Katrina and Sandy). And the gospel is always preached.

Convoy of Hope is considered a “first responder” organization in disaster relief. With a fleet of tractor-trailers, a 300,000-square-foot warehouse, a high-tech Mobile Command Center and through a scalable distribution model we have been heralded for quickly providing resources and help to victims of disasters worldwide.
We rely heavily on the faith-based community, businesses and national and state disaster relief agencies and organizations. Because of strong alliances, we were one of the first humanitarian aid groups to distribute food in Haiti after a 7.0-magnitude earthquake struck the country on January 12, 2010.

They also work with countries like Haiti to teach skills and nutrition to families in need. It struck me how many families are in need not just of food, but for healthy food. I’ve tossed around the idea for the past few weeks, but after coming to this realization I’ve decided to go full force. You see I’m a chocolate addict. I also adore a vanilla coke like non-other and well I don’t drink sweet tea much but whenever I go out, it’s usually the drink of choice. This past Saturday I had a cup of super sweet tea and I FELT HORRIBLE afterwards. It dawned on me that I should probably give that up when I go out and just make it at home where I can control the sugar level. But it’s hard to push past our temptations. UNLESS, we have a cause. I have a cause now.

I’m going to give up purchasing items that are UNHEALTHY for me so that I can donate on a regular basis so families across the globe can have a chance to eat better. If I pass by the heavy processed chocolate in the store (have you read those labels? They put artificial flavoring in them. Chocolate should be left pure folks), the cokes and sweet teas when I dine out, I can probably afford to donate between $10-20 dollars a month.

2 Corinthians 8:13-15 (NIV)

13 Our desire is not that others might be relieved while you are hard pressed, but that there might be equality. 14 At the present time your plenty will supply what they need, so that in turn their plenty will supply what you need. The goal is equality, 15 as it is written: “The one who gathered much did not have too much, and the one who gathered little did not have too little.”

Paul is saying here that we should strive to be equal. If you’re blessed, then bless others. You never know when you’ll find yourself on the other side of the line. My goal is to give up some temptations so that others can have what they need. Plus, in doing so, I’ll be making myself healthier. Sure it’ll be hard cause I adore those things but I think I’ll find far better rewards in letting them go.

If you would like to donate to Convoy of Hope you can do so here and check out their organization.

Leave a Reply

