Massaged Kale Salad

1 Mar
Image

Photo credit: Tasty Kitchen

I was asked the other day why I would choose kale over spinach. I’ve always had a love hate relationship with spinach. Don’t get me wrong it’s tasty alright, but I always end up tossing a bunch of it because it starts to wilt on me. I’m also a big texture person when it comes to food and I just need a little crunch now and then. Thus enters kale.

If you follow many food blogs, you’re no stranger to how “in” kale is right now. I personally enjoy it as kale chips, pulverized to bits in my smoothies (you don’t taste it, REALLY you don’t), or I’ll toss it into things raw. It’s sorta bitter alone, but paired with things it adds a healthy kick to your meal. I mean have you heard about Kale? It’s loaded with all sorts of goodness.

My friend found this recipe yesterday for a Kale salad from Tasty Kitchen and well I happened to have a huge bag of it needing some use. Today we made our version of it. We omitted the quinoa (I’m sure it would taste great but we did this at work), and added some other leftovers. I was very happy with how pretty and bright the salad turned out. (I thought about taking a picture of it, but I’m really starting to get paranoid that folks will think I’m weird if I’m always taking a picture of my food.) This is something I would definitely make if I had company over, needed something for a brunch or bridal shower, or just wanted to be all fancy fancy by myself.

Kale Salad
recipe adapted (but mostly just like) from Tasty Kitchen’s version

– About 3-5 cups of kale, sorta torn apart and remove any clunky stems
– Matchstick carrots
– Crumbled goat cheese
– Pink lady apple, cubed (or really any apple, but this adds a pretty color to the salad if you leave the peel on.)
– Craisins

Dressing:

– 1/4 cup olive oil
– 2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
– 1 packet of stevia (I omitted the honey and lemon juice)
– Minced garlic (I just threw a spoonful in, adjust to taste)
– Salt and Pepper to taste

Mix all the dressing ingredients together in a bowl. Pour over kale and massage into the greens for a few minutes until well coated. Add in the rest of the ingredients and toss.

I’m sure some nuts or croutons would be divine in this, we basically went with what we had on hand.

2 Responses to “Massaged Kale Salad”

  1. Teresa Anderson March 1, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    YUM, amanda!! That looks fantastic…can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

