Cookie Dough Cupcakes

11 Oct

I recently helped plan a baby shower for a dear friend. Usually when I plan food for a party, I hit my pinterest board and find the things I’ve been wanting to try. Parties are always a good excuse. Since the cake was being handled by the sister, I chose to go with these chocolate cupcakes with a cookie dough icing. Let me tell you, so good. The icing tastes literally like cookie dough. I think it could easily be a dip. Recipe as follows, from Tidy Mom.

Recipe
– 3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
– ¾ cup light brown sugar, packed
– 3½ cups confectioners’ sugar (I might back off this next time, super sweet)
– 1 cup all-purpose flour
– ¾ tsp. salt
– 3 tbsp. milk
– 2½ tsp. vanilla extract

1. Beat butter and brown sugar with the paddle attachment on high speed until creamy and fluffy.
2. Mix in the confectioners’ sugar until smooth.
3. Beat in the flour and salt.
4. Mix in the milk and vanilla extract until smooth and combined.

I used just good ole boxed chocolate cake mix for the cupcakes. Not my favorite thing to do but I was short on time. This sounds like a lot of icing but if safely iced all 40+ tiny cupcakes I had. I also topped them with some tine chocolate chips.



My friend is a little woodsy so we went with a pink and brown theme. As you can see we Pinteresed it up. Aside from the yarn S and table garland, I give creative credit to my friend, Jaclyn for completely tackling this. She had so many cute decor items and made the pinecones and diaper cake. I’ll link so DIY’s to the projects above.

Yarn Wrapped Letter: here
Diaper Cake: here
Pinecones: here
Torn Fabric Bunting Garland: here (I actually did the hole make a loop and slip in through technique instead of knotting)
Food Signs: That was a little project I came up with. I took 2 decorative cinnamon sticks (Christmas section at Hobby Lobby) and tied the ends with thread. Here is a printable for the food signs. I printed them on pink paper but you can change that up.

Leave a Reply

