Soup Days: Creamy Tortellini Soup

9 Oct

Round 2 on Soup Days. I had a hard time deciding between this one from Better Homes and Garden or a homemade tomato basil soup. As I had leftover spinach in the fridge begging to be used, this one won out. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly minus the mushrooms and onion. I had planned on adding some carrots but sadly left them at work so this one wasn’t quite as healthy as I normally like but still very tasty. (indicates my changes)

Photo Credit: Better Homes and Gardens

Recipe:
– 1 2-ounce envelope white sauce mix (apparently for us southerns that means country gravy mix)
– 4 cups of water
– 1 14-ounce can vegetable broth
– 1 1/2 cups sliced fresh mushrooms (I omitted)
– 1/2 cup chopped onion (I omitted)
– 3 gloves garlic, minced
– 1/2 teaspoon dried basil, crushed
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
-1/4 teaspoon dried oregano (I used Italian seasoning and probably more towards a 1/2)
– 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I used crushed red pepper flakes)
– 2 cups dried cheese tortellini
– 1 12-ounce can evaporated milk
– 6 cups fresh baby spinach leaves, torn
(I also added some balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar to taste, just a smidge)

1. Place dry white sauce mix in a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker. Gradually add the water to the white sauce mix, stirring until smooth. Stir in broth, mushrooms, onion, garlic, basil, salt, oregano, and cayenne pepper.
2. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 5 to 6 hours or on high-heat setting for 2-1/2 to 3 hours.
3. Stir in dried tortellini. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 1 hour more or high-heat setting for 45 minutes more.
4. Stir in evaporated milk and fresh spinach. If desired, sprinkle individual servings with black pepper and Parmesan cheese. Makes 4 servings.

(Since I didn’t add the vegetables upfront I cut the slow cooking down some. I also let the spinach cook some in the broth before serving.)

Leave a Reply

