Starbucks Fall Drinks-Copy Cat Recipes

12 Sep

If you’ve been reading along with my posts, you’re aware by now that I love fall. Once the weather starts to drop at night, I love curling up with a hot drink in hand. Usually, I’m craving one of Starbucks’ tasty fall drinks. It’s very unlikely though that I’m going to drive to a Starbucks at this time of night. Nor can I justify spending $4 every time I have a hankering for one. (Trust me, it’s often.) Therefore, I set out on a quest to find some decent copy-cat versions that I could make at home whenever I pleased and for considerably less. I have come across two methods that suit me. This is both awesome and dangerous.

Pumpkin Spice Latte
This version is considerably healthier in my opinion. Mostly because you’re controling the ingredients and you use real pumpkin. Beta Carotene fix!

Syrup Ingredients:
8-9 teaspoons of pumpkin puree 
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup water
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg 
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

Mix all the ingredients over low-med heat until dissolved. Stir pretty frequently to prevent scorching. Once dissolved add a few spoonfuls to coffee (totally to taste). I opted for whole milk instead of creamer to make it more latte like.

Best of all, it makes extra! Store extra syrup in the fridge for up to a week. 

Caramel Apple Spice
This version is pretty right on as it uses the same syrup they use. You can buy a bottle of the Cinnamon Dolce Syrup from Starbucks for about $8. Just ask a barista for it. My bottle has lasted forever.

Ingredients:
1  cup apple juice (I use Motts)
3 pumps of Starbucks Cinnamon Dolce Syrup (2-3 Tbs)
Caramel Drizzle (Hersheys topping syrup)
Whipped Cream
dash of cinnamon

Mix juice and syrup into your favorite mug. Microwave for about 2 minutes. (Or you can steam it if you wish to be fancy.) Then top with cream, caramel, and a dash of cinnamon for prettiness. Voila!

There you go. Two of my faves ready at hand when you crave. Though I will say nothing beats the actual version. Yes, I’m a Starbucks fanatic. Oh and word to the wise, try the Salted Caramel Mocha. It’s out of this world.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

