Why, Hi Pumpkin!

7 Sep

Fall is incredibly close at hand. On my evening walks I catch a glimpse of a few crimson leaves. Occasionally, there is a brisk cool wind that speaks of more to come. And Starbucks has offically brought back my two favorite drinks: Salted Caramel Mocha and PUMPKIN SPICE LATTE!!! In my book, it’s fall.

So that means, out with the pumpkins. I have pumpkins everywhere in my house. I’m slightly obsessed. In fitting manners, some of my favorite baked goodies involved the hearty fruit (or is it a veggie?). I’ve waited patiently all summer long, but decided it was time to break out the canned pumpkin. Surprisingly the grocery stores didn’t share my enthusiasm as I had to drive to two to find canned pumpkin. In honor of fall, I decided to try a new recipe out for Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins.

I found this recipe on Pinterest. They immediately reminded me of the Starbucks version and seemed healthy enough so I gave it a go. I tried to make these as organic as possible within reason. Here are my recommendations if I were to tweak the recipe some based off my tastes:

1. Add more pumpkin. I prefer a heavier taste, you have a whole can so you might as well. Plus the wheat flour dries it out some so maybe more pumpkin would help with the consistency.
2. I would have added more cream cheese than I did but that’s also because I adore cream cheese and would like a taste in every bite.

If you like muffins and prefer the less sweet version of baked goods. I would give this recipe a go. They set up really pretty and I’m excited to take them to work to share.

If you like sweeter more cupcake like muffins then here is a recipe I’ve used for a few years that I love. Don’t let the long list of ingredients scare you off, it’s worth it.

Pumpkin Cupcakes w/ Maple Cream Cheese Icing

Ingredients:
1 stick of unsalted butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup sugar
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cup of buttermilk with 1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cups canned pumpkin

Frosting:
Two packages of cream cheese
1 stick of unsalted butter
2 cups of confectioners sugar
1/4 cup maple sugar

Quick Frosting:
Store bought cream cheese icing mixed with maple flavoring

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Beat the butter and sugars on medium speed till fluffy. Sift the flour, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, clove, salt, and pepper into a medium bowl.
3. Add the eggs 1 at a time to the mixer, scraping down the sides. Alternate adding the flour and milk mixtures, beginning and ending with flour. Beat in the pumpkin until smooth.
4. Scoop batter into the liner. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

For frosting: Mix all the ingredients until fluffy.

New fall collection will be posted soon!
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

