DIY-Hand Painted Mug + Free Printable

27 Jun

I’m sure you’ve seen a similar tutorial on Pinterest. I found this mug a few weeks ago and fell in LOVE with it. The folksiness of the typography and the Scandinavian color scheme plus the message screamed, “BUY ME.” And I almost did. What stopped me? Well, firstly it was a BIG mug 20+ oz. I like coffee but that’s slightly on the side of CA (coffeeholics anonymous.) And it was $18 + $7 shipping. I made a goal this summer to watch my spending and the mug, however fab it might be, just didn’t qualify as a $25 need. So I thought Pinterest project to the rescue. I changed up the message to fit me better. SLOW down is not really why you drink coffee.

Firstly, you’ll need a mug + a porcelain paint pen and carbon paper. And some sort of graphic. I’m attaching this design at the end of the post if you wish to use it 🙂

Now, I would recommend finding a mug at Walmart, Target, TJ Maxx, etc. I found the above at TJ Maxx for 1.99. I’m sure you can find them everywhere for cheap if you look just make sure it’s oven safe as these have to bake.

I found the porcelain pen at Hobby Lobby for 3.99. I’ve heard that Pebeo is a great brand but I couldn’t find it. I used Deco Art brand, and it actually said it was for glass but just read the fine print. You want something that says for use on ceramics and that once baked will be dishwasher safe. (Note: it did say not for areas in contact with food, so I only used it on the outside and away from the mouth area)

Step 1: Clean your mug with glass cleaner. If you want to free hand then rock on but if you’re more precise like me, get your graphic and some carbon paper. Trace it on. You’ll be left with a faint line that will smear if you’re not careful.

Step 2: Paint away. I bought a fine tip pen but me and Deco Art have totally different opinions on what that means. It was sorta thick so you have to take it slow. I found that using short, quick strokes verses “writing” with it helped keep the ink from pooling too much. Once done, back a way and let it dry for 4 hours. (Note: if you mess up, let it dry for like 5 mins and then wipe it away. I tried too soon and it smeared everywhere)

Step 3: Bake. I followed the directions on the pen package. 375 for 40 mins.

Pretty simple and much cheaper. You can totally use this idea for so many things and it makes a cute gift.

Click here to download the graphic: HaveACoffee

5 Responses to “DIY-Hand Painted Mug + Free Printable”

  1. Deb May 8, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Cool project……thanks for sharing!

  2. Misty June 14, 2013 at 12:53 am #

    I’m dying to do something like this with kids and fathers day gifts. Was it dishwasher safe after baking??

    • amandaclaybrook June 14, 2013 at 1:16 am #

      I believe the pen did say that it was dishwasher safe, but I chose to handwash it to be safe.

  3. Martyna November 10, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

    I’ve heard that you can achieve the same results using plain old sharpies…have you tried using permanent markers on ceramics before?

    • amandaclaybrook November 13, 2013 at 12:26 am #

      I haven’t tried it personally, but I’ve heard the same thing. I think when I was researching I read that they tended to come off in the dishwasher easier.

Leave a Reply

