Not Yet, Not Never

7 May

It amazes me how God can reveal simple messages to us everyday in the smallest of ways. I’ve been praying for some things to come to fruit in my life. It’s a good thing. Not entirely selfish. Seems logical. But it hasn’t happened yet. I feel like this is a desire God placed in my heart long ago and it seems so close yet so far away. Sometimes I get doubtful and think well maybe it just isn’t going to happen. Other times the impatience is just so unbearable I think I will pop from anticipation.

The other day at work, my friend’s 5-yr old was at work. I was in my office talking to her when the little dude came in. He had found a ring pop and was wishfully asking his mom if he could have it then. The gleam in his eye was screaming please mommy I really want this but he was pretty quiet on the outside. She simply said, “No, you need to eat your food first.” He ran back into the other room crying and she walked to the door and said the one phrase that shouted out at me. “I didn’t say no, I said not now.”

How often do we take God’s “not now’s” to mean “no’s?” There are times when waiting is good. Even though our desires are for good and for God we must learn to wait upon his timing. The reason the little dude couldn’t have his ring pop then was because he needed to eat his meal first. He needed that nutrition first. There are things you need to learn and gather in your season of waiting. It’s definitely hard to be patient, but God has good in store for you.

“No good thing will He withhold from those who walk upright.” Ps 84:11

 In waiting we learn to trust God for his perfect will. Often we we act on impulse we miss a greater opportunity. We settle for less. God has much better things in his plans then we can even imagine.

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more then we might ask or think.” Ephesians 3:20


God doesn’t exist in our idea of dimensions. He exists out of our knowledge of time and space. Take a minute to think of the wildest, most crazy impossible thing ever. God is more then that. You can’t touch the surface, you can’t even begin to imagine it. That’s pretty deep.

One Response to “Not Yet, Not Never”

  1. Amy Argo May 7, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    I love this. What a great illustration.

Leave a Reply

