New Mercies

22 Mar

Last night we did a worship song in youth done by Jesus Culture, called “Your Love Never Fails.” It’s pretty catchy, great song. One of those that’s easy to jam out to. Problem though, sometimes it’s so catchy that we miss the vitality of the words in this song. You make all things work together for my good. It’s catchy right, but how easy is it for us to sing it and not believe it. I can be real here and say I worry way to much to say I put that phrase into daily practice. I try to but I fail regularly. If crowns were given out to the person who worries most, I’d have a gem laden diadem. Probably would worry some of those gems would fall out though or my neck would get some horrid catch from the weight of it.

The very first part of the song goes like this:

Nothing can separate
Even if I ran away
Your love never fails

I know I still make mistakes
But you have new mercies for me everyday
Your love never fails.

New Mercies. I’ll be honest it’s part of the song I usually sing over and never process. But after a morning of a heavy heart of bad news after another that phrase kept going over and over in my head. New Mercies. New Mercies.

Lamentations 3:22-23 (NIV)

 22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

Isn’t is great that we serve a God who never gets tired. Every morning he’s ready and rested with NEW MERCIES. Messed up? New mercies. Still sick? New Mercies. Still a worrier? New Mercies.

The song continues…

You stay the same through the ages
Your love never changes
There may be pain in the night but joy comes in the morning.

How often do we forget that God is the SAME. He hasn’t changed from the dawn of creation. The same God who made the heavens and the earth, that made every cell and organism to live and work in harmony to the minutest detail, that did a billizon things in the bible, IS THE SAME GOD OF TODAY! It’s hard to believe but he is, he didn’t change. They aren’t just cool stories in the bible, they are examples for us to LIVE BY. One of my favorite books is the Hiding Place, by Corrie TenBoom. Amazing true story of God’s provision over Corrie as she survived the concentration camps of the WWII Holocaust.

Psalm 103 (NLT)

A psalm of David.

Let all that I am praise the Lord;
with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.
Let all that I am praise the Lord;
may I never forget the good things he does for me.
He forgives all my sins
and heals all my diseases.
He redeems me from death
and crowns me with love and tender mercies.
He fills my life with good things.

I thank God for all the mercies he provides for me on a daily basis!

 

 

One Response to “New Mercies”

  1. amyfaulkargo March 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    beautiful reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

