Happy Valentine’s Day!

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s day everyone! I spent last weekend with my love. We live about three hours apart so we had to celebrate a little early. I thought I would share a snippet or two from the weekend along with my card I made him. When we first start dating I thought I would impress him by designing one-of-a-kind cards with sweetness in them. I set myself up to always have a fire under me to outdo myself each holiday. One of my favorite sayings between us is “Awesome Opossum.” So it fit that this year’s Valentine card should be a play on that.

I handpainted the card with gouache and had it printed on heavy cardstock. We decided since both out birthdays and Christmas fall so close together along with today to keep gifts heartfelt. He made me those awesome pencil holders which have a slit in them so that I can use them to display my cards/art/photos etc. Pretty rad right? He does beautiful wood work.

We matched. We kinda always do, though oddly enough not on purpose. We spent the day with some friends, ate some yummy food, and topped the weekend off with Harry Potter and hot chocolate. I’ve been posting several things about a hot chocolate party/date so it was only fitting. I spruced it up and dubbed it Mayan Cocoa. Oh and how awesome is that gigantic Hersey kiss? His mom made it using a funnel and some foil/ribbon. I see a future DIY in that one.

Mayan Cocoa
note: this is purely to taste

2 cups of milk
2 tsp of vanilla
1 tsp of coffee
2 packets of hot chocolate mix
3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp of cinnamon
marshmallows
chocolate syrup

Heat milk in a sauce pan. Don’t boil just get hot. Pour in both packets of hot chocolate mix and stir well. Then add in other ingredients except marshmallows/syrup. These are rough estimates, I like it bold, then sweet. Just use your taste judgement. Once thoroughly satisfied with temperature and flavor pour into your favorite mugs and top with marshmallows and chocolate syrup. Yum!

3 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!”

  1. amyfaulkargo February 14, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    I am definitely trying the hot chocolate–tonight! Sounds super yummy! 🙂

    • amandaclaybrook February 14, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      Let me know if you like it or not. 🙂 I’m still tweaking it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sketch Contrast « - February 20, 2012

    […] is the first concept I created for the Opossum Card I made him for valentines. I posted about the final version last week in a Valentine’s Day […]

Leave a Reply

