First Round With the Daniel’s Fast

25 Jan

The second week of January, I set out on a new challenge–The Daniel’s Fast. It’s pretty much no sugar, no bread, no meat, no butter, no eggs, no dairy, no alot of things. Especially, NO COFFEE. I must admit that one exclusion scared me the most. I generally am a pretty healthy gal and can go without meat for a while and not miss it. I occasionally drink soy milk, and growing up as a product of the 90s I’ve ate fat-free stuff most of my life. However the Holidays hit and I got away from really caring about what I eat or put into my body. It’s ok now and then to do that but I needed my perspective refocused. I began the new year with the Daniel’s Fast.

The fast comes from Daniel 10:2-3, “During those days, I Daniel, went into mourning over Jerusalem for three weeks. I ate only plain and simple food, no seasoning or meat or wine.” Daniel spent those three weeks humbling himself and pleading to God for his request.

You can google  the fast to find rules or even read a few books, I knew if I was going to make it through this fast I had to set guidelines I could keep. So I ate brown rice and tortillas, instead of bread. For sweetener I used honey. I kept whole 100% fruit juices in, and I had oatmeal. These are all things that for some , break this fast, but it is what you make it. I also made the weekends a semi-fast, meaning I added in other things like grilled chicken but generally kept it healthy. The fast is what you make it, obviously  it won’t be easy, but you need to be realistic.

My goal in doing this fast was to get my physical focus back. After the Holidays I got out of a routine and pretty much wasn’t paying attention to my food intake. The fast was to help reform a routine and tighten up on things. I think that it’s important to balance a spiritual focus with a physical focus. During this time I also listened to a sermon series by Sherri Rose, “Fit for My King.” It talks about the importance in freeing yourself from emotional and physical damage and how living a healthy lifestyle is important in your spiritual walk. I think overall it is important what we put into our bodies. As I said I grew up eating mostly “fat-free” food. I’m not really convinced now that “fat-free” is the healthiest. I want to start using more whole foods, and keep out the highly processed and refined food that plagues our grocery store shelves.

For the most part, I’ve done well. I have the confidence that I can do this again later and probably even tighten up some. I have to say now that I’m 2.5 weeks into it, I feel my energy has kicked up and I can tell a difference. I’m also hungry. The past few days I’ve noticed what I was eating wasn’t satisfying. So this morning I splurged on breakfast, I’ll save you the price figure. I’m nearing the three weeks so the next few days it’s key not to give in. Three days left.

20120125-084423.jpg

Leave a Reply

