A Different Kind of Marinade

24 Jan

I’ll be honest, I deal with anxious thoughts occassionaly. More then I would like, I find myself fretting over things that really I shouldn’t. It seems when I find peace over one issue, then there is another. I try to find peace by reminding myself that, oddly enough that is life. Life is full of ups and downs and all arounds. But we should focus more on what could go right then what could go wrong. As I was reading this morning I came across a passage in Philippians 4 where Paul urges the church to let go of worry and fret. To trust God and to think of good things–the BEST, not the WORST. I began a devotional this morning called Jolt of Joy and in the devo, this stood out to me. “If you desire a joy so pervasive that it will trump every other circumstance in life then you must spend time in the presence of the Lord. If you are desperate for a joy that will literally defy all of your life’s depressing situations then you must choose to marinate in his presence.

Marinate. The word struck me funny as I think of a piece of chicken chilling in some Italin dressing, but it’s true. How often do we try to get by with only spending a few moments in the presence of God when we should be marinating, batheing in his fullness. If you cooked a chicken without letting it have proper time to soak in the yummyness, you would have a very dry, tough, tasteless chicken. We shouldn’t be tasteless, we should be reeking with the presence of God. That’ll be evident by the joy on our faces!

My new year resolution was to worry less. I’ve never been one to accept throwing in the towel so I’ll keep pressing on. I need to marinate in the Lord more. I need his joy and his presence.

3 Responses to “A Different Kind of Marinade”

  1. Amy Argo January 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Started reading this plan too. Loved that analogy. 🙂

    • claybak January 24, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      I actually saw it on your post first, and started it. Just what I was looking for 🙂

      • Amy Argo January 24, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

        Love it 😀

Leave a Reply

